Sun Sims Home Search FAQ Log in  
Reply to topic :tutorial: Expansion Pack Installation Order
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Greg
Anja's Sock Puppet
Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 6672
Location: Happy Valley
Post Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:10 pm
Reply with quote
I successfully created a family and moved them onto a lot! I used the Star Line (Greg, Sheba, and Dallas) because I'm most familiar with them.

_________________
Greg
Webmonster
Moon Sims ~ SimsHost ~ Ultimate Sims List
Greg
Anja's Sock Puppet
Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 6672
Location: Happy Valley
Post Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:16 pm
Reply with quote
Is this thing going to whine about custom content every time I start it?

_________________
Greg
Webmonster
Moon Sims ~ SimsHost ~ Ultimate Sims List
Zirconia Wolf
SimsHost Champion
Joined: 22 Jul 2006
Posts: 149
Location: In front of my computer! (Issaquah, WA. USA)
Post Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:18 pm
Reply with quote
Wren wrote:
You've now got to wait a very long time for it to create the subneighbourhoods.They really suck. confused
Edit:Just to try and scare you I'm going to mention the fact that when I installed OFB Bluewater deleted Pleasantview...


10 minutes?? Yikes! My PC has never taken that long, & I even have the oh-so-dreaded (but waaaaay over feared) Pets installed! After my last re-install (no PC problems, just me being strange) I got smart. I now have a nice little backup (zip) copy of all 3 original Neighborhoods (actually, my entire Sims2 folder) right after I assigned (and even "entered" briefly) all the sub-divisions. (This was all done before I installed my massive Downloads folder! It's about as fresh a copy as you can get! )

I figure it will save time should anything wiered happen with Seasons....which it WON'T because I have been praying freverantly to the PC Game Gods.

-ZW

_________________
"I reject your reallity, and substitute my own!" - Adam Savage, co-host of the Mythbusters TV series.
Zirconia Wolf
SimsHost Champion
Joined: 22 Jul 2006
Posts: 149
Location: In front of my computer! (Issaquah, WA. USA)
Post Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:20 pm
Reply with quote
Greg wrote:
Is this thing going to whine about custom content every time I start it?


Did you un-check the "display-message-at-startup" box? (Or something like that. )

That will take care of it!

-ZW

_________________
"I reject your reallity, and substitute my own!" - Adam Savage, co-host of the Mythbusters TV series.
Greg
Anja's Sock Puppet
Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 6672
Location: Happy Valley
Post Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:23 pm
Reply with quote
Oh! I must have overlooked the existence of the display-message-at-startup box!

I think it might have loaded a little bit faster the second time.

The OFB version of JM's Lot Fixer is really cool! It lets you pick a major when you "Upgrade Pre-Uni Sim" and even has a Batman symbol on it!

_________________
Greg
Webmonster
Moon Sims ~ SimsHost ~ Ultimate Sims List
Zirconia Wolf
SimsHost Champion
Joined: 22 Jul 2006
Posts: 149
Location: In front of my computer! (Issaquah, WA. USA)
Post Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:26 pm
Reply with quote
Yes, that "Batman Box" has got to be about my favorite hack! LOVE the pre-Uni upgade feature!! It makes all those pre-made maxis familys alot more fun!

-ZW

_________________
"I reject your reallity, and substitute my own!" - Adam Savage, co-host of the Mythbusters TV series.
Greg
Anja's Sock Puppet
Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 6672
Location: Happy Valley
Post Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:22 am
Reply with quote
Now I'm playing with the new building stuff. There's not a lot new here, but the half walls are pretty neat and I didn't even know about the split-level foundation!

_________________
Greg
Webmonster
Moon Sims ~ SimsHost ~ Ultimate Sims List
Greg
Anja's Sock Puppet
Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 6672
Location: Happy Valley
Post Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 1:50 am
Reply with quote
So far, so good! I'm getting one persistent error. I think it's coming from JM's "no shock for outgoing" hack. It's not fatal, though, so I can hunt it down at my leisure.

I guess the next test is to go to an preexisting neighborhood and try playing a house where I don't care if it gets blown away. There are a lot of those in the Meat Market, but maybe I'd better try one of my almost-never-played neighborhoods first just in case it blows away an entire neighborhood.


... which I did. I tested in in Hyglum, which I had intended to be an all-alien neighborhood but quickly lost interest in. No problems so far other than those intermittent script errors! Grin

_________________
Greg
Webmonster
Moon Sims ~ SimsHost ~ Ultimate Sims List
Sita
Dancer of the Nine Disks
Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 1538
Location: Bristol UK
Post Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 6:00 am
Reply with quote
/me cheers quietly! cheers cheers cheers and crosses fingers.
miros1
Lone Surviving Sims 1 Holdout
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Posts: 5348
Location: NY State
Post Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 8:18 am
Reply with quote
Greg wrote:
Oh! I must have overlooked the existence of the display-message-at-startup box!

I think it might have loaded a little bit faster the second time.

The OFB version of JM's Lot Fixer is really cool! It lets you pick a major when you "Upgrade Pre-Uni Sim" and even has a Batman symbol on it!


1) Make absolutely sure you've got custom content showing up.
2) It's in the "gear" screen.

Greg wrote:
Now I'm sure it's going to want to create a bazillion subneighborhoods. Nice music.


No, the number and types of subhoods is up to you. You make new ones with the buttons in the upper left corner of the 'hood screen. The only thing I did with Downtown and Blue Water Village recently was pack up the lots so I could install them in my own 'hoods.

Remember, you can use an extra Shopping District as a retirement village for Sims you don't want to kill, but don't want to play.

Greg wrote:
Aha! It looks like I'll need to quit and restart to get the custom content to show up.


Yup. We told you this eleventy-leven times. In bold print. And you forgot until you didn't see your favorite stuff. At least you remembered without panicing!

_________________
Rose/Miros
Webmistress, the Wooden Simolean
http://www.woodensimolean.simshost.com
The Wooden Simolean is a SimsHost subscriber supported site
Greg
Anja's Sock Puppet
Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 6672
Location: Happy Valley
Post Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 9:50 am
Reply with quote
So far, the only weirdness I've encountered is the intermittent error on one of JM's scripts and the fact that it takes as long to load as The Sims 1 used to. I can live with a long load time.

Gotta remember to add the new registration numbers to my user profile on EA's site. I don't know why that's important but it seems to be important to them!

_________________
Greg
Webmonster
Moon Sims ~ SimsHost ~ Ultimate Sims List
Zirconia Wolf
SimsHost Champion
Joined: 22 Jul 2006
Posts: 149
Location: In front of my computer! (Issaquah, WA. USA)
Post Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:59 pm
Reply with quote
Greg wrote:
So far, the only weirdness I've encountered is the intermittent error on one of JM's scripts and the fact that it takes as long to load as The Sims 1 used to. I can live with a long load time.


Really? I swear that Sims 1 (with all EPs) takes longer to load up than Sims 2 (with all current EPs) on my PC. What really still blows my mind is the fact that Sims 2 (unlike it's predeccesor) never crashes out on me. "Crash-outs" were a pretty regular things (for me) in Sims 1.....

Greg wrote:
Gotta remember to add the new registration numbers to my user profile on EA's site. I don't know why that's important but it seems to be important to them!


I normally do this too....but for some bizzare reason the Maxis/EA site WILL NOT except the code on my Sims 2 Holiday Edition (my "core" Sims 2 base) as being valid! It's the same code that I've entered (a couple times now) during the re-load prosess, but no dice. very sad

Actually the only thing that seems to come of registering Sims 2 packs is a "secret tip" via e-mail that I already know by having read the fansites/Prima guide, so....

** EDITED TO ADD: **
miros 1 wrote:
Remember, you can use an extra Shopping District as a retirement village for Sims you don't want to kill, but don't want to play.


Ohmygosh I never thought of that! What an awesome idea!


-ZW


Last edited by Zirconia Wolf on Sun Jan 28, 2007 1:36 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
"I reject your reallity, and substitute my own!" - Adam Savage, co-host of the Mythbusters TV series.
Sita
Dancer of the Nine Disks
Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 1538
Location: Bristol UK
Post Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 1:35 pm
Reply with quote
You need to register to get some of the downloads too.
Greg
Anja's Sock Puppet
Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 6672
Location: Happy Valley
Post Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 2:42 pm
Reply with quote
Yippee! Now when my sims look out at the view, they have a view to look at!


Anja, Neil, and Sheila on Anja's upper deck in the Meat Market
Gotta work on that landscape!
I linked the image to Anja's story. Warning: Adult content; adult site.



I need to update the camera mod. Where they heck did I get that? Thinking

_________________
Greg
Webmonster
Moon Sims ~ SimsHost ~ Ultimate Sims List
Sita
Dancer of the Nine Disks
Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 1538
Location: Bristol UK
Post Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:58 pm
Reply with quote
Now you are beginning to see what we have been telling you all this time! NL is seriously COOL
hiding
:tutorial: Expansion Pack Installation Order
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 2 of 3  

  
  
 Reply to topic  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Design by phpBBStyles.com | Styles Database.
Content © The Hullabaloo