Sun Sims Home Search FAQ Log in  
Reply to topic Time Zone ?
Time Zone ?
DazednConfused
Friend of SimsHost
Joined: 05 Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Location: Australia
Post Posted: Sat Apr 16, 2005 7:54 pm
Reply with quote
Hi,
I can't seem to get the time zone working properly,my attempts at changing it don't seem to be working. I live in Australia, closest city is Brisbane. Can you help me to format it please.
:boggled: I know it's probably something I've misread or missed.
Thanks

_________________
Life can be hard sometimes, so take some time for Fun!!! and Laughter!!! It's good for the soul.
Greg
Anja's Sock Puppet
Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 6672
Location: Happy Valley
Post Posted: Sun Apr 17, 2005 1:49 pm
Reply with quote
You're in the Eastern Standard Time (for Australia) so (assuming we have the board set correctly) it ought to work to set the board to GMT+10 hours.

I'm puzzling over whether we have a problem with daylight-saving time. You don't observe DST, but we're current in DST in the USA. I'm seeing a clock that's right in synch with the local time here but I don't know if that's because I'm off by an hour for regular time or if it automatically adjusted for DST on April 3.


Addendum: Near the top of the page there's some gray text that reads like "The time now is Sun Apr 17, 2005 1:56 pm". How does that compare to your real clocks?

What time do you see for the time this message was posted? I'm seeing "Posted: Sun Apr 17, 2005 1:49 pm"


I just noticed that the board's system time is set for GMT-5 hours. That would be correct for US EST (standard time, not EDT) because the server is in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Now I'm snooping around, looking for whether we might be having a problem with DST.

_________________
Greg
Webmonster
Moon Sims ~ SimsHost ~ Ultimate Sims List
miros1
Lone Surviving Sims 1 Holdout
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Posts: 5348
Location: NY State
Post Posted: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:38 pm
Reply with quote
One of us is... the time on your message was 12:49 to me!

Rose/Miros
Greg
Anja's Sock Puppet
Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 6672
Location: Happy Valley
Post Posted: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:57 pm
Reply with quote
My personal setting shows as GMT-5, which puts me in synch with the Republic of Texas!
:3d:

Now, the real question is: Did your board settings automagically adjust for daylight-saving time, or was it an hour out of synch before April 3?

Addendum: I see the time stamp on this message as "Posted: Sun Apr 17, 2005 2:57 pm"

_________________
Greg
Webmonster
Moon Sims ~ SimsHost ~ Ultimate Sims List
greatdane
SimsHost Champion
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Posts: 257
Location: Confuzzled
Post Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:01 am
Reply with quote
Works for me :-) oh I have the board set for GMT+1 because thats my time zone here in Denmark.

Lise

_________________
http://hca.simshost.com
Sheba
Admin

Admin
Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 2191
Location: Happy Valley
Post Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 9:16 am
Reply with quote
Greg . . . see my post regarding time zones at:

http://hullabaloo.simshost.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4984

:::: I'm gathering no one reads the Admin announcements ::::::: :razz4:


The board's settings are just fine, as they are suppose to be set according to the time zone the server is in.

For Daylight Savings time, one must adjust their personal profile to get the time they view to function properly. :winky:

So, in a nutshell, if the time is "off" when a user views the board, it's their profile setting and not the board itself. :smilehap:

---------

Dazed . . . =)

How much is your time setting "off" ? Are you hours ahead or behind?

Try going into your profile and adjusting the setting to how much you are off. So, if you're time is showing too much ahead (showing 8 rather than 5) then use a setting 3 hours behind what you currently are. =) Same thing if you're going in the opposite direction, if you're time is showing 5 rather than 8, just bump up your personal time setting +3. =)

I hope that makes sense, if not just give me a yell and let me know. I'm not feeling the best today so I'm not sure if I'm making sense or not. :dodge: lol

Regards,

~*~ Carrot ~*~


Last edited by Sheba on Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:42 am; edited 1 time in total
miros1
Lone Surviving Sims 1 Holdout
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Posts: 5348
Location: NY State
Post Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:56 pm
Reply with quote
Why would we do a silly thing like read the admin announcements?

Well, now I have an excuse to try out your new board skins!

Rose/Miros
Sheba
Admin

Admin
Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 2191
Location: Happy Valley
Post Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 2:35 pm
Reply with quote
miros1 wrote:
Why would we do a silly thing like read the admin announcements?

Well, now I have an excuse to try out your new board skins!

Rose/Miros


Lol . . . not sure why anyone would Rose! I do try to make them interesting, but sometimes no matter how hard one tries, the subject matter just doesn't allow for "interesting" . . . :gah:

Hugs & Regards,

~*~ Carrot ~*~
miros1
Lone Surviving Sims 1 Holdout
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Posts: 5348
Location: NY State
Post Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 3:24 pm
Reply with quote
Well, I got my time zone fixed so my computer clock agrees with the one at the top of the main forum page, changed my board skin, and fixed my signature!

_________________
Rose/Miros
Webmistress, the Wooden Simolean
http://www.woodensimolean.simshost.com
The Wooden Simolean is a SimsHost subscriber supported site
Sheba
Admin

Admin
Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 2191
Location: Happy Valley
Post Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2005 3:40 pm
Reply with quote
Great Rose! =)

Sounds like you're "ready to roll" now . . . :winky:

Regards,

~*~ Carrot ~*~
Time Zones
DazednConfused
Friend of SimsHost
Joined: 05 Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Location: Australia
Post Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 6:14 am
Reply with quote
Hey Guys,
Thanks for all the info, I have'nt been able to access the internet, and yes Carrot I did read the admin posts, however I'm probably not computer savvy enuf to comprehend what you're telling me.
I shall endeavour to attempt sychronising my time zone again. My GMT is wrong, Greg has informed me that I am + 10 hours, I think mine might be - or + 5 :doubt: , so am assuming that is the problem.
Hopefully this is it. Thanks for your prompt replies.
:smilehap:

_________________
Life can be hard sometimes, so take some time for Fun!!! and Laughter!!! It's good for the soul.
Greg
Anja's Sock Puppet
Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 6672
Location: Happy Valley
Post Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 5:48 pm
Reply with quote
Yup, that's gotta be it. Australians have always been ahead of most of the world.
Grin

_________________
Greg
Webmonster
Moon Sims ~ SimsHost ~ Ultimate Sims List
Re: Time Zones
Sheba
Admin

Admin
Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 2191
Location: Happy Valley
Post Posted: Thu May 12, 2005 6:24 pm
Reply with quote
DazednConfused wrote:
Hey Guys,
Thanks for all the info, I have'nt been able to access the internet, and yes Carrot I did read the admin posts, however I'm probably not computer savvy enuf to comprehend what you're telling me.
I shall endeavour to attempt sychronising my time zone again. My GMT is wrong, Greg has informed me that I am + 10 hours, I think mine might be - or + 5 :doubt: , so am assuming that is the problem.
Hopefully this is it. Thanks for your prompt replies.
:smilehap:


Hey Dazed . . . =)

Hope you've got things sorted out with your clock here on the board, if not you can check out this chart. =)

http://wwp.greenwichmeantime.com/time-zone/australia/

Hope this helps! Please let me know . . . :winky:

Regards,

~*~ Carrot ~*~
Time Zone ?
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Design by phpBBStyles.com | Styles Database.
Content © The Hullabaloo