Sun Sims Home Search FAQ Log in  
Reply to topic Is The Virdict In On Vista Yet????
Goto page Previous  1, 2
LooseChanj
SimsHost Champion
Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 401
Location: Florida
Post Posted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 10:23 am
Reply with quote
kelly wrote:
Have you tried the new speed boost thing? I'm waiting for my usb drive thing to come in....
Apparently if you plug one into the computer, Vista will treat it like RAM.... I'm just wondering how that works:)
I can't wait to find out!


It's nowhere near as fast as actual ram, but it's quicker than the HDD!
kelly
Ruler of The Sim Republic
Joined: 10 Sep 2004
Posts: 480
Post Posted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 10:31 am
Reply with quote
Oh... My laptop had 512 ram in it... i got a 1 gb card when i bought vista.... so it actually works really well.. I guess I just had high hopes for the usb thing.. LOL...

_________________
http://www.thesimrepublic.net
miros1
Lone Surviving Sims 1 Holdout
Joined: 05 Sep 2004
Posts: 5348
Location: NY State
Post Posted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 11:06 am
Reply with quote
Still, a big USB drive plugged in for extra swap space sounds like a great idea to me!

Remember, USB plugs need to be plugged straight in and pulled straight out or they will break! Also, don't bump the drive into anything while it's plugged in or it will break.

_________________
Rose/Miros
Webmistress, the Wooden Simolean
http://www.woodensimolean.simshost.com
The Wooden Simolean is a SimsHost subscriber supported site
Kaylyn
SimsHost Champion
Joined: 06 May 2006
Posts: 582
Location: Shreveport/Bossier, Louisiana
Post Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 4:00 pm
Reply with quote
Greg wrote:
That's a pretty strong argument for upgrading my graphics card!

What flavor of laptop do you have?


Got it at Best Buy. It's another HP Pavilion...here's a link to it: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=8223282&type=product&productCategoryId=pcmcat103700050028&id=1166840116155

I LOVE it. It has a built in web cam and microphone, and a TV tuner! So now I can actually watch TV while on the road if the signal's strong enough! Plus, I believe it MIGHT even be HD... Grin Just installed Oblivion and it's SO gorgeous with all the sliders turned up! Still lags a little bit, but runs about the same as my old laptop with all the sliders at low-medium settings. I'm so loving it!

But yeah, sorta back on topic, I can understand Vista having some problems, though I haven't run into anything major yet. I'm sure a service pack isn't too far in the future, but as far as a casual user, it's fine. Can't say anything about upgrades, though...sometimes upgrades can have more glitches than a fresh install. As it was my packaged OS with this computer, that's all I can speak for.

_________________
~Kaylyn
MySpace
"I wear the cheese. It does not wear me."
Zirconia Wolf
SimsHost Champion
Joined: 22 Jul 2006
Posts: 149
Location: In front of my computer! (Issaquah, WA. USA)
Post Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:18 pm
Reply with quote
Thanks for all the info! I had originally asked because I am planning on a new PC soon (mainly because the very cool nVidia Ge Force 7300 GS graphic card I got to replace my nVidia Ge Force 5700 LE will not work with my 3-year-old mother board) & was toying with the idea of having Vista installed at the same time. (There's a local "PC builder" store that's offering the Vista Home Premium as standarded on their PC's for the same price most others are charging for XP or Vista Home Basic. I never buy "brand name" PCs! I always have mine custom built! )

Well, that & I wanted to get all upgraded for Sims 2 Seasons, which I went ahead & pre-ordered already. I'm anticipating it being a bit more of a "graphics intense" EP than the others have been. Actually I have been distracted away from my Sims 2 addiction for the past few days as I have stumbled apon a new RPG game demo (Silverfall, due out this March) that has been eating up more time than I realized at first. (As a dearly devoted fan of the truely awesome Arcanum, it seems that Silverfall- so far, anyway- has potential to help fill the void created by the demise of Trokia Games. Time will tell.... ) I can definately tell that I'm gonna be needing a grapics upgrade to play the full-release of Silverfall....but rest asured that my Sims have not been forgotten! (As a matter of fact Greg, I do hear them calling to me at night....unless those are Peake's Sims I'm hearing! )

All things considered, I'm thinking I'll stick to my trusty XP for a while....though it IS nice to hear that Vista- so far- hasn't been a "game melter" or anything!

-ZW

_________________
"I reject your reallity, and substitute my own!" - Adam Savage, co-host of the Mythbusters TV series.
Peake1981
SimsHost Champion
Joined: 21 Dec 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Zollernia, Neu Rheinland
Post Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:55 pm
Reply with quote
I am strongly considering upgrading my nVidia GeForce 7300 LE 256mb (it came with my computer when I bought it last Nov.), because the times I played since I put Vista on the Sims is playing very jerky and that is a put off to playing. I know that 7300 LE is "poor man's" GeForce series 7. I currently eyeing up a nVidia GeForce 7300 GT with 512mb, but I don't know if it will fit my computer.

_________________
Ich bin ein Preusse, will ein Preusse sein.
Greg
Anja's Sock Puppet
Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 6672
Location: Happy Valley
Post Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:59 pm
Reply with quote
Which among all that alphabet soup is the hottest nVidia video card these days?

_________________
Greg
Webmonster
Moon Sims ~ SimsHost ~ Ultimate Sims List
Peake1981
SimsHost Champion
Joined: 21 Dec 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Zollernia, Neu Rheinland
Post Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 8:19 pm
Reply with quote
GT or GTS with a high number.

Supposedly GeForce 8800 are not just Vista capable, but DirectX 10 compatable. Like that is really usable right now... confused

_________________
Ich bin ein Preusse, will ein Preusse sein.
Zirconia Wolf
SimsHost Champion
Joined: 22 Jul 2006
Posts: 149
Location: In front of my computer! (Issaquah, WA. USA)
Post Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:05 pm
Reply with quote
The local shop I'm eyeing offers a nVidia Genforce 7600 GS (GTS? just know it's NOT an LE) with it's new PC's. (Even beats out my never-used 7300 GS! Sheesh! What I'm ever gonna do with that thing I don't know! )

I know "LE" is sorta the "poorman version" of nVidia cards, but in all fairness that nVidia 5700 LE I'm currently running on has proved just slick as can be, even on such graphics-heavy games as The Sims 2 & Childeren of the Nile. It's only recently given me any "problems", and only with Ceasar IV (veeeeeery lagging) and the Silverfall demo (some lag-time with many characters on screen and graphics aren't nearly as "crisp" as they should be) so that's my main reason for *sniff* deciding that it's time for an upgrade.

Looks like I might be heading for the PC to place an order soon.....

-ZW

_________________
"I reject your reallity, and substitute my own!" - Adam Savage, co-host of the Mythbusters TV series.
Peake1981
SimsHost Champion
Joined: 21 Dec 2006
Posts: 198
Location: Zollernia, Neu Rheinland
Post Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:19 pm
Reply with quote
Before Vista, my nVidia GeForce 7300 LE 256mb with 1gb of dual channel DDR2 was more the perfect for the Sims 2. I just got done 20 minutes ago with talking with people from Dell about get a new graphics card and I getting a GeForce 7600 GS 512mb.


Last edited by Peake1981 on Thu Mar 01, 2007 9:46 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
Ich bin ein Preusse, will ein Preusse sein.
tomssimstuff
Extreme SimsHost Fan
Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 90
Location: Indiana
Post Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2007 9:25 pm
Reply with quote
Zirconia Wolf wrote:
The local shop I'm eyeing offers a nVidia Genforce 7600 GS (GTS? just know it's NOT an LE) with it's new PC's. (Even beats out my never-used 7300 GS! Sheesh! What I'm ever gonna do with that thing I don't know! )



Keep it somewhere it can't get damaged, I've run into many times where it's would have been handy to have a spare graphics card around, but then didn't have one.

_________________
Tom
Tom's Sim Stuff
My System Specs
Is The Virdict In On Vista Yet????
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT - 5 Hours  
Page 2 of 2  

  
  
 Reply to topic  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
Design by phpBBStyles.com | Styles Database.
Content © The Hullabaloo